Domaine de la Touraize - ARBOIS AOP (Jura)

Vin Jaune 2011

Grape variety :

Savagnin

Designation :

Arbois PDO

Terroir :

Blue marl. Named-place: "Petit Curoulet". Exposure: Northwest. Altitude: 300 m.

Acreage :

1 ha. Age of the vines: between 10 and 30 years.

Harvest :

Manual.

Yield :

38 hl/ha

Farming method :

Winter and spring : Cane pruning (Guyot). Arch trained. Addition of organic matter at the end of winter. Spring and summer : Disbudding then tying-up. The vines are only treated with copper and sulphur, no pesticides. The soil between the rows and "under the rows" is ploughed several times a year. No chemical weeding. The grapes are hand-picked and put in 300 kg containers.

Vinification :

Pneumatic pressing of whole bunches. Static gravity settling. Spontaneous alcoholic fermentation achieved with indigenous yeast. Alcoholic fermentation, malolactic fermentation, and aging in stainless steel vats.

Aging :

Aging for 70 months in 228-litre barrels in an unconditioned room (attic) with no topping up to promote the development of a "flor" on the surface of the wine. This is called aging "under flor". The "flor" protects the wine from abrupt oxidation and the yeast in this flor regenerates naturally. During this slow process, the yeast dies, breaks down, and thus participates in the unique olfactory and sensory complexity and diversity of Vin Jaune.

Bottling :

Gravity bottling with no filtration in 62 cl "clavelin" bottles. Cork stopper 45/24 Ma Silva.

Serving temperature :

Between 14°C and 16°C.

Tasting :

Complex aromas of dry fruit, walnuts, hazelnuts, and spices on the nose. A powerful attack on the palate, rich, full-bodied, and unctuous with an extraordinary aromatic persistence.

Serving suggestions :

White meat and fish in cream and Vin Jaune sauce, mushrooms on toast, dishes with curry and ginger, Franche-Comté cheese platter, walnut desserts.

Domaine de la Touraize - ARBOIS AOP (Jura)

Vin Jaune 2011

Cépage :

Savagnin

Appellation :

AOP Arbois

Terroir :

Marnes bleues. Lieu-dit : « Petit Curoulet ». Exposition : Nord ouest. Altitude : 300 m

Superficie :

1 ha. Âge de la vigne entre 10 et 30 ans.

Vendanges :

Manuelles.

Rendement :

38 hl/ha

Méthode culturale :

Hiver et printemps : taille « Guyot ». Liage en arcure. Apport de matière organique en fin d’hiver. Printemps et été : Ebourgeonnage puis relevage. Les traitements de la vigne sont exclusivement à base de cuivre et de souffre, sans pesticide. Nos terres sont labourées plusieurs fois dans la saison entre les rangs et « sous le rang ». Aucun désherbage chimique. Les vendanges sont manuelles. Les raisins sont récoltés en bacs de 300 kg.

Vinification :

Pressurage pneumatique en grappe entière. Débourbage statique par gravité. Fermentation alcoolique spontanée obtenue avec les levures indigènes du raisin. Fermentation alcoolique, fermentation malo-lactique en cuve inox.

Elevage :

Un élevage de 70 mois en fûts de 228 litres, sans ouillage et dans un local non tempéré (au grenier) permettra le développement « d’une fleur » à la surface du vin. Nous parlons alors d’un élevage sous voile. Cette « fleur » va protéger le vin d’une oxydation brutale et les levures qui composent ce voile vont se régénérer naturellement. Au cours de ce lent processus, des levures meurent, se dégradent et participent alors à la complexité et à la richesse olfactive et sensorielle unique du vin jaune.

Mise en bouteille :

Par gravité, sans filtration en bouteille « clavelin » de 62 cl. Bouchon liège 45/24 Ma Silva.

Service :

Entre 14°c et 16°c.

Dégustation :

Au nez, arômes complexes de fruits secs, noix, noisettes, épices. En bouche, attaque puissante, riche, ample et onctueuse avec une extraordinaire persistance aromatique.

Accompagnement :

Viandes blanches et poissons à la crème et au vin jaune. Croûte aux champignons, plats au curry et gingembre. Plateau de fromages comtois. Desserts aux noix.