Domaine de la Touraize - ARBOIS AOP (Jura)

Distinctive Savagnin

2014

Grape variety :

Savagnin.

Designation :

Arbois PDO

Terroir :

Blue marl. Named-place: "Petit Curoulet". Exposure: Northwest. Altitude: 300 m.

Acreage :

1 ha. Age of the vines: 30 years.

Harvest :

Manual.

Yield :

35 hl/ha.

Farming method :

Winter and spring : "Guyot" pruning. Arch trained. Addition of organic matter at the end of winter. Spring and summer : Disbudding then tying-up. The vines are only treated with copper and sulphur, no pesticides. The soil between the rows and "under the rows" is ploughed several times a year. No chemical weeding. The grapes are hand-picked and put in 300 kg containers.

Vinification :

Pneumatic pressing of whole bunches. Static gravity settling. Spontaneous alcoholic fermentation achieved with indigenous yeast. Alcoholic fermentation, malolactic fermentation, and aging in stainless steel vats.

Aging :

Aging for 24 to 30 months in 228-litre barrels in an unconditioned room (attic) with no topping up to promote the development of a "flor" on the surface of the wine. This is called aging "under flor". The "flor" protects the wine from abrupt oxidation and the yeast in this flor regenerates naturally. During this slow process, the yeast dies, breaks down, and thus participates in the olfactory and sensory complexity and diversity of distinctive Savagnin.

Bottling :

On 27 October 2017 after plate filtration (K 80), 1500 bottles. Batch: L SAV 14. Cork stopper 45/24 Ma Silva.

Serving temperature :

Between 14°C and 16°C.

Tasting :

Complex aromas of green walnut, fresh hazelnuts, and spices on the nose... A powerful attack on the palate, rich, full-bodied, and unctuous with good aromatic persistence.

Serving suggestions :

White meat and fish in cream sauce, mushroom dishes, curries, snails, crayfish, mature Comté.

Domaine de la Touraize - ARBOIS AOP (Jura)

Savagnin typé

2014

Cépage :

Savagnin.

Appellation :

AOP Arbois

Terroir :

Marnes bleues. Lieu-dit : « Petit Curoulet ». Exposition : Nord ouest. Altitude : 300 m

Superficie :

1 ha. Âge de la vigne : 30 ans.

Vendanges :

Manuelles.

Rendement :

35 hl/ha.

Méthode culturale :

Hiver et printemps : taille « Guyot ». Liage en arcure. Apport de matière organique en fin d’hiver. Printemps et été : Ebourgeonnage puis relevage. Les traitements de la vigne sont exclusivement à base de cuivre et de souffre, sans pesticide. Nos terres sont labourées plusieurs fois dans la saison entre les rangs et « sous le rang ». Aucun désherbage chimique. Les vendanges sont manuelles. Les raisins sont récoltés en bacs de 300 kg.

Vinification :

Pressurage pneumatique en grappe entière. Débourbage statique par gravité. Fermentation alcoolique spontanée obtenue avec les levures indigènes du raisin. Fermentation alcoolique, fermentation malo-lactique en cuve inox.

Elevage :

Un élevage de 24 à 30 mois en fûts de 228 litres ,sans ouillage et dans un local non tempéré (au grenier) permettra le développement « d’une fleur » à la surface du vin. Nous parlons alors d’un élevage « sous voile ». Cette « fleur » va protéger le vin d’une oxydation brutale et les levures qui composent ce voile vont se régénérer naturellement. Au cours de ce lent processus, des levures meurent, se dégradent et participent alors à la complexité et à la richesse olfactive et sensorielle du savagnin typé.

Mise en bouteille :

Le 27 octobre 2017 après filtration sur plaque (K 80) 1500 bouteilles. Lot : L SAV 14. Bouchon liege 45/24 Ma Silva.

Service :

Entre 14 et 16°

Dégustation :

Au nez, arômes complexes de noix verte, noisettes fraiches, épices... En bouche, attaque puissante, riche, ample et onctueuse avec une belle persistance aromatique.

Accompagnement :

Viandes blanches et poissons à la crème. Plats aux champignons, au curry. Escargots, écrevisses. Vieux comté